Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Microsoft Teams is a chat-based digital workspace that enables real-time collaboration between faculty and students and learning can extend beyond the classroom.

Class Teams help you easily manage class workflow while engaging every student's voice. You can move quickly and easily from conversations to content creation. You can communicate with students, share files and links, grade assignments and schedule online classes. Students can collaborate on group projects by co-authoring files and engaging in meetings and conversations, all in one place. 

Class Teams Provisioned in NUS

To save you the hassle of adding students individually, NUS IT and CIT has provisioned 1 class team per group for NUS academic modules:

  • Lecture (L)
  • Design Lecture (D)
  • Packaged Lecture (P)
  • Seminar-Style Module Class (E)
  • Sectional Teaching (S)

It is optional for teaching staff to use Teams as an engagement tool in complement with LumiNUS, or standalone. Students will only be allowed into the team when teaching staff (i.e. team owners) activates it. The plan is to automate this process and provision class teams every semester. 


 Are lecturers of different lecture groups added into separate teams accordingly?

If it is not reflected on EduRec, all lecturers will be add to all lecture groups. 

 My module has multiple codes, will the students be added into the same team?

Not at the moment for the first pilot in Term 1920. You may add the students manually to the team you prefer. 

Moving forward, we will work towards merging the students from cross-listed modules in AY20/21.

 I have multiple department IDs, which ones will be used?

We have added multiple IDs as owners to the module you teach. You may login to any of the relevant department ID accordingly to interact with the students. 

Functional IDs (e.g. ___head and ___sec) are excluded. 

 How long will the provisioned team be kept?

Provisioned teams will be archived and deleted after 1 year. You will be notified to download your files for backup before the archival process.



  • No labels